Challenge Accepted!

Be sure to visit Our Story to read all about the adventure we are embarking on!

 

After Christopher and I decided to spend a year moving to a new city on the East Coast every month, I spent a week going over all of the potential issues I could think of, all the reasons why not to go:

  • Would Christopher’s boss sign off on this?
  • I love the company I work for, what would I do for work?
  • We have two pups, to bring them or not to bring them?
  • How much would we ask to rent our house for?
  • What would we do with our stuff?
  • We have two cars, both of them almost paid off, and neither one of them would work for this type of adventure, what would we do?
  • Where exactly would we go?

And it turned out, Christopher and I had answers – GOOD answers – to every question! And we even had a few “why’s” to add to the list of “why not’s” we were crossing off.

  • Would Christopher’s boss sign off on this? 
    YES! He did! Christopher is a Regional Sales Manager for the East Coast, and works from home. As long as we are in his territory, and near a major airport, we can technically live anywhere.

 

  • I love the company I work for, what would I do for work? 
    While I wouldn’t be able to continue my job as Sales Assistant, my amazing company will allow me to do data entry for them on the road!  It doesn’t pay as well, but it means I will still be getting a paycheck.

 

  • We have two pups, to bring them or not to bring them?
    Bring them! Airbnb.com is very comprehensive, and all listings state whether or not they allow pets.  It may cost us a little extra, but there’s no way we can live for a year without our “fur-babies”.

 

  • How much would we ask to rent our house for? 
    Honestly, as long as our mortgage is covered, then we’re good! We are actually in the process now of finding a renter, but we are confident that we will find someone.

 

  • What would we do with our stuff?
    We decided to have a giant garage sale right before we leave to get rid of a bunch of our stuff for some much-needed cash, but since we aren’t selling EVERYTHING, we will be renting a POD to store whatever we have left.

 

  • We have two cars, both of them almost paid off, and neither one of them would work for this type of adventure, what would we do?
    Since we are planning on only living in major cities with public transit, and we will both be working from home, we will only need one car.  We decided to trade in the husband’s car for a Ford Transit Connect Van (see picture at the top of the page).  And as it gets closer to time, we will sell my car outright.  It will be paid off completely by then, and we will use that money for any incidentals we occur.

 

  • Where exactly would we go?
    That list started populating VERY quickly.  We are still tweaking it, but we have at least 10 cities on our list, starting with Boston in October so we can see the leaves change!

 

  • Additional reason to go?
    We don’t have kids yet.  The best time to do this is BEFORE we have kids.  I don’t want to wait until we are retired to have adventures!

 

  • Another reason to go?
    I’ve never “left home” – I moved out of my parents’ house, but I never went away to college, or moved more than 20 minutes away.  I will miss my family like crazy (especially my niece and nephew!), but it’s temporary, and we will be able to come back home for important events like Christmas, etc.

 

  • And lastly?
    IT’S THE ADVENTURE OF A LIFETIME!!

Stay tuned! I will post a new blog every Monday!

8 thoughts on “Challenge Accepted!”

  1. Hi there! I understand this is somewhat off-topic
    however I needed to ask. Does operating a well-established
    website such as yours take a lot of work? I am brand new to
    running a blog however I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so
    I will be able to share my personal experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

    1. Hi! Thanks for stopping by! I wouldn’t say my website is well-established LOL, I just started a few weeks ago! So far, it hasn’t been so much work that it isn’t worth it! Right now I work full time so I only post once a week, but am planning on posting more once we are on the road and have more free time.

      If you are an aspiring blogger I say GO FOR IT! Blogging is so much fun, and the world needs more fresh voices and opinions! Let me know if you do decide to start a blog and send me the link. I’ll add it to my Links page. 🙂

      Good Luck!

Leave a comment